Theatre… Ipswich’s future?

26 01 2011

There’s no escaping.

If you’re in Ipswich, “historical” is unavoidable. And hey, that’s one of the attributes I love about this place. I live in an antique home, and I still thrill to the thought that all this old stuff around town is REAL, not reproduction, not simulation.

And in one of our historical buildings, an exciting future is cooking. The old Town Hall building is waking from a long nap. The Ipswich Playhouse Society signed papers in December to purchase the building. All it needs now is a “little renovation.”

The plans for the theatre

The plans include a jazz bar, a coffee house, and shops. But the real big deal is the theatre. 300 seats. Compact stage. An intimate setting for smaller shows.

There is nothing like live theatre. It is an ancient art, surely dating back to the first guy who retold the story of his mammoth hunting expedition… with embellishments. And there is nothing more modern.

Every entertainment innovation was supposed to mean “the death of live theatre,” and yet is persists. Because being in the same space with a performer, witnessing his work as it happens, is not the same as watching a recording of it. The perspective is different, the sense of anticipation is heightened. There is no “take 2” in the theatre. There is no post-production to clean up timing or errors. It is honest performance – what you experience is actually happening before you.

Can you tell that I love theatre? I found my soulmate in a theatre. I found myself there, as well. Working in theatre is rich experience, an all-enveloping one. Anything is possible, even (often) the impossible. And yes, the show must go on, against all odds.

So the possibility of live theatre in Ipswich sets my heart racing. Just think of the possibilities…

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 01 2011
Chris Cellucci

Thank you for committing to this blog. It is the first piece of mail I open when I sit down with my morning cup of coffee. It is a joy to read and a wonderful way to start my day.

Cheers!

29 01 2011
kristinaintheswich

You honor me, Chris! And motivate me to keep at it!

29 01 2011
Chris Florio

I am looking forward to seeing live theatre at the new arts center and to maybe creating some music there. Thanks Kristina.

Chris

Leave a Reply

